Have you been bitten by the #acting bug? Me too!

When I was a young girl, I always dreamed of being a singer and an actress. I would stand in the mirror, even in nursery school I’ve been told, and dance and sing. I would practice my award acceptance speeches. I remember putting all that on one of those standardized test/questionnaires when I was 9 years old. The test said don’t waste your time do something worthwhile and where you can make a living. I was crushed. Then as I grew up I had people tell me ‘be a doctor, a business-woman, use your brains.’ I took that stuff to heart. I wish I was stronger back then and followed my dream anyway. Well, 30 years later I am stronger and I am living out my dreams. Yes, I sing and act in my community. I’m not ashamed. I adore it. They are two of my passions in life. I’ve been blessed for the past 10 years to have been a part of some really amazing, professional caliber shows. I’ve been Beneatha in ‘Raisin in the Sun’, the housekeepers in ‘To Kill a Mockingbird and ‘My Fair Lady’, Grace in ‘Grace&Glorie’, Mrs. Muller in ‘Doubt’ to name a few. I’ve also recently started directing. The reason I’m telling you all this? As I was thinking on blogging topics I saw a post on twitter about someone doing their first little acting gig. So I thought, hey why not share what you’ve learned to help someone else. So that’s what I plan to do. I hope they help you upcoming actors or those of you who have always thought about it but been to shy to try. I look forward to it!

We love community theater

We love community theater

Posted with WordPress for BlackBerry.

Leave a Reply

