Whew! A follow-up sex/sexting talk with my teen boy

My son and I have had the sex talk, as a matter-of-fact, he came to me when he was in elementary school and wanted to go check out books on puberty and sex. He also wanted me to talk with him about it and answer any questions he had. I tried to get him to talk to his dad. I was met with a resounding NO! He wanted to talk to me. I’m blessed by that. Well, he’s 15 now and dealing with a whole other set of issues. With high school comes preparation for college, harder work, more expectations, sex and drugs. The list goes on. I’m under no illusions that boy tells me every single detail of his life, but he is fairly open with me. So, I felt now was the time to do a regular follow-up on sex and yes..sexting. We talked about abstinence and maintaining his purity for marriage as well using protection. During these talks, it’s important for me to remain calm. I had to catch myself at one point. When your child talks to you about 14 and 15 year olds he knows that are trying to have a baby, it can cause some anxiety. I have to trust that I’m doing my job of guiding him in the right direction and trust God to give the growth. We also talked about kids sending him pictures and him being strong enough to tell them not to do that and for him to never pass those on to anyone else. These talks can take you out of your comfort zone, but it’s important to be pro-active. You want to do preventive maintenance on your kids. We also go back to God’s word and that He gave us our sexuality not to be ashamed of it or make it something dirty. I’ve made it clear how God expects him to control himself. We also talked about how he is worth so much more than just giving himself away. I pray all we discuss sinks in and sticks. As parents we want the best for our children and giving them clear boundaries, especially when it comes to sex is a crucial way to do that.

Posted with WordPress for BlackBerry.

2 thoughts on “Whew! A follow-up sex/sexting talk with my teen boy

  1. Thank you for this great post. I may not be a parent but I agree that it is our role as adults to talk to teens about issues concerning sex and sexting. More than 10 years ago when I was a teenager, there was no such thing as sexting. But in this day and age, I got to say that is scary that sexting is becoming prevalent and teens need to know that sexting is not a game.

Leave a Reply

