Why is so important to have support while trying to lose weight?

I like to fancy myself a pretty strong woman. I’m single, raising a boy into a man, entrepreneur and volunteer. I pray and talk to God before I talk to anyone else and there are things I don’t share with anyone else. So I figure I can get through this without having the support of another human being, right? Not quite. As a volunteer, I know first-hand that every needs someone to help them at times. Heck, I know that as a single mom. As I’ve gotten serious and proactive about losing weight, I’ve seen my family shift their thinking as well. When do meals as a family, they have made sure to have grilled meat for me, veggies, and fruits. They also ask before hand what I’d like. It has been such a blessing because I don’t have to avoid meals, I don’t feel temted to cheat on my new journey. I don’t feel resentful towards them for noit respecting my plan. Support brings us together. It unifies in a common goal (wow that could preach..lol). I also have friends who talk about and plan workout routines with me and encourage me to follow through. If you know someone who is on a weight loss journey, support and encourage them because it does matter. If you need support, surround yourself with uplifting people. Also, encourage yourself. Speak positively about you. Look in the mirror and find something you like, love the fact that you’re here and alive and free to lose weight if you want. See the person inside and her/him out and watch how it changes things.

3 thoughts on “Why is so important to have support while trying to lose weight?

  1. Support is vital, I totally agree. I think it is terrific that your freinds and famiy are supporting you. I have been having a hard time on this weight loss journey myself. It is nice to read about someone who is finding success. I found you on VoiceBoks and am so glad I did. I am now a happy follower!! We actaully have a group on the site to help those who want to improve their fitness, hope you join!! Take care!

  2. Thanks Kathy! I’ll be following back! My dishwasher is possessed! Love that! It’s so true that this weight loss journey gets hard at times…we don’t always see an immediate change that we’d like. So we have to notice the good, subtle changes that are happening. One of the best things about this is that I feel better physically. I didn’t know how bad I felt until I started healing…if that makes sense at all. This is a process,so don’t give up! You can do it!

  3. Hi Raquel. I am visiting your blog from voiceboks. Sounds like you have a great support team with your family and friends. I am trying to get back into shape after having my 4th child. I have my good days and bad days. But having accountability partners keeps me motivated. Hope you have a great weekend!

Leave a Reply

