Mistakes. We all make them..and if you’re thinking you’re one of the elite few that don’t; I hate to be the bearer of bad news but you’ve just made your first mistake by saying that. Seriously, even though we’re all made in God’s image, we’re all human and prone to mess up from time to time. If you’re like me..you’re prone to mess up quite often. So now that we’ve established that no one is always a goody two shoes, let’s talk about how we deal with the fallout. We either recognize our failures by being honest and shedding light on them, thereby learning from them; or we bury our heads in the sand,gloss over them and become destined to repeat them. I know for me,being totally honest with myself,let alone God can be a gut wrenching experience. I’ve been known to swim down the river of denial once or twice. However, the more I grow in Christ the easier it gets to reveal myself to Him. I know at this point some of you are wondering how do I do that..how do I get there? How do I stop repeating the same old mistakes? Well brace yourselves darlings;it’s not always easy. Oh yes I know there are people out there who will say “it’s not hard..that’s just a lie from the pits o’ hell!” But if we’re real about this thing, it takes time, much prayer , meditating on God’s word and constant renewing of our minds to truly see transformation. If someone would’ve told me from the beginning that getting saved would not be an end to my screwing things up, it probably would’ve saved me a lot of sleepless nights wondering why I was such a lousy Christian. My ‘ just’ getting saved was the beginning of a cycle of me trying to fix things by pretending I wasn’t thinking those wrong thoughts and eventually screwing things up. Now I know when we talk about failures a lot of people think sexual sins; but it could be running our mouths so much we run head first into gossip. Failure could be making promises and never following through. As scriptures says: “For all have sinned and fall short of the glory of God.” Romans 3:23(NIV). But glory to God for the next verse: “They are justified freely by His grace through the redemption that is in Christ Jesus.” Romans 4:23(NIV). You see, even in our failures we have already been given a way of escape, the way to redemption. We do not have to try to defend ourselves because our mistakes. Friend, we have already been defended. If we truly believe in our hearts and confess with our mouths, we receive the benefits of the work that Christ has already completed. As we embrace the grace in our journey, we study the scriptures that deal with our weaknesses. We absorb that word and let the Holy Spirit lead and guide us into all truth. So we can stop letting the enemy put guilt on us for mistakes, and as Ephesians 4:24 says, “you put on the new man, the one created according to God’s [likeness] in righteousness and purity of the truth.”

Leave a Reply

